The House of Forever: Selected Poems
Samantha Henderson

The House of Forever: Selected Poems by Samantha Henderson is a collection of 21 time-bending poems, nine never before published--poems which fold, collapse, and conflate time, so that now becomes then, and then becomes now. From "Cabazon," where the prehistoric past meets the lonely present, to "After the Crash," which invokes the Brontë sisters in deep space, each poem is a tapestry of life sewn with the unraveling threads of time.

The House of Forever will be published by Raven Electrick Ink, publisher of Jack-o'-Spec: Tales of Halloween and Fantasy, Retro Spec: Tales of Fantasy and Nostalgia, Cinema Spec: Tales of Hollywood and Fantasy and Sporty Spec: Games of the Fantastic. The collection is scheduled for release in October 2012 as a perfect-bound chapbook, and will be sold at and other online retailers.

Samantha Henderson's poetry has been published in Strange Horizons, Goblin Fruit, Weird Tales, Dreams and Nightmares, Mythic Delirium, Jabberwocky, and Stone Telling, and she is the co-winner, with Kendall Evans, of the 2010 Rhysling Award for speculative poetry for "In the Astronaut Asylum." She is the author of the Ravenloft novel Heaven's Bones and the Forgotten Realms novel Dawnbringer.

Praise for The House of Forever:

"Here are ruins and rust and wilderness. Here, too, feral children, naked heroes, women rebels, the heirs of volcanoes, confounded astronomers and cunning snakes. Best of all, here are ghosts. Ghosts in the glass, ghosts that gather in kitchens to be fed, ghosts clustering in these pages like grapes to be themselves devoured. Dear readers and poem-eaters, prepare for your hearts to be 'pierced by roses.'"
           -- C.S.E. Cooney

"Samantha Henderson's poetry tastes like titanium-edged kisses, sounds like a bow drawn across the violin of the frontal lobe, across the bass of the reptile brain. Her poetry feels like a long-fingered hand in your chest, closed around your heart, squeezing its own rhythm. Her poetry smells like death, like life; its scent is memory.

"Read these poems, consume these poems, then look in the mirror at yourself, at the ghost of yourself. You will see her poetry in your eyes."
           -- Eric Marin

Table of Contents for The House of Forever

  • "Crackerbox (1941)/Beaver Falls, PA"
  • "Veritas was a Maid in the House of Forever"
  • "What Scuttles"
  • "When They Woke"
  • "Mouth Feel"
  • "Hepatocellular Cancer, Stage Four 7"
  • "Cabazon"
  • "Hero"
  • "Hungry: Some Ghost Stories"
  • "The Passion"
  • "Reptile Brain"
  • "Autopsy/Mother Volcano"
  • "Like the Air, You Exist in Layers"
  • "Every Thirty Years on Cygnus 5"
  • "The Miracle of the Gulls, 1848"
  • "The Astronomer"
  • "Egyptology"
  • "How to Eat a Book"
  • "Victory Garden"
  • "After the Crash"
  • "Ghost Feet"